What a whirlwind of 2014! Our house is amazing and everything people say about a house sucking up your time and money is true! But we are very excited about making it beautiful. Our fall was packed full of festivities, with a housewarming party, my 30th birthday (eek!) and the holidays with both of our families. We also were saddened by a couple of funerals we had to attend, one for a very beloved Grandfather, and another for my wonderful cousin who left us too young.

But CHEERS to a brand NEW YEAR!! I’m ready to take this year on and I hope you are too!

Remicade seems to be kicking in after about 5 months. The only negative I have experienced is that it gives me headaches. I usually get an instant headache during and after the infusion. The nurses say this is a histamine reaction, which is why they suggest a Benadryl or Claritin before the infusion. And red wine is the other culprit — apparently the Remicade does not like alcohol, so I have gotten extreme migraines the day after a glass of wine that cause me to vomit. So beware if you’re taking this too!

Although Remicade is working much better than before, it still does not help the minor flare ups and swelling that Rheumatoid Arthritis causes randomly. So my doctor has suggested Sulfasalazine as another medication to assist with these flares. It was one of the first medications to reduce or prevent further joint damage in patients with arthritis. When I went to fill the prescription, I read the inactive ingredients as I usually do and realized that I would not be able to take the brand name drug. Luckily, I have an amazing compounding pharmacist at Walgreens who ordered the Sulfasalazine powder and created capsules with nothing else in them.

If you also have some reactions to inactive ingredients in medications, don’t hesitate to ask for a compounding pharmacist at your local Walgreens. Most states have at least one location with a specialty pharmacist on staff. They can also answer questions for you about medications and help research inactive ingredients until they find a suitable medication for your needs.

 

