Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last week I finished ten days of heavy metals chelation at the Whitaker Wellness Institute in Orange County. This chelation process helped lower my high lead levels, detox my liver, and even oxygenate my blood while removing plaque on the artery walls. But the only thing it didn’t do is remove the toxic metal mercury from my system, which seems to be the biggest culprit in fighting my rheumatoid arthritis.

Based on the most recent heavy metals urine test I did, my mercury levels are still off the charts. A blood-mercury level of 5 nanograms per millilitre (ng/mL) and a urine-mercury level of 20 ng/mL are considered high and dangerous levels. My urine-mercury level was at 43 ng/mL. This is due to a chronic exposure to mercury — probably from the amalgam dental fillings I had as a child, the amount of tuna I consumed in my life, and possibly the floor wax I used to harden my ballet pointe shoes.

The heavy metal mercury vaporizes from fillings and accumulates in the body, including in the brain. Research from Norway in 2007 shows a direct correlation between the number of fillings and brain mercury concentration. Mercury has various symptoms, such as anxiety and irritability, muscle weakness, and even auto-immune diseases.

According to the Department of Pathology at the University of Connecticut, “There is solid evidence that mercury can induce autoimmune disease.” My rheumotologist believes that the mercury in my body, which has damaged my cells and infultrated my muscles, organs and brain, is stopping me from going into remission from the RA. That’s why it is time to work on this mercury issue so I can have the chance to get well.

Dr. Andrew Cutler, Ph.D. explains in his chelation protocol that first you must remove the amalgam fillings and any other exposure to items with mercury. Next is taking a chelating agent called DMSA for several months, along with Alpha Lipoic Acid. Then we test again to see how effective the chelation is. Wish me luck!

