Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Recently I learned the reason for the medical rollercoaster I have been on for the past 6 years. And it all goes back to my family tree.

Not to put the blame on anyone here, of course, but my recent genetic test results showed that I was “basically born for this” (in the words of my doctor). My genetic mutations and varieties showed genes for chronic inflammation, chronic pain, anxiety, Rheumatoid Arthritis, environmental and food allergies, etc.  All things I have been experiencing in the past several years. And all because of my genetic structure.

Research reveals that genes, environmental toxins, and infections all contribute to most chronic medical conditions, such as Autism or Rheumatoid Arthritis. That’s why genetic testing can be so valuable to help optimize nutrient supplementation to address these conditions.  The type of genetic testing I did was called Comprehensive Methylation Panel with Methylation Pathway Analysis.  This type of testing targets the most essential genes and focuses on genetic weaknesses in the body. Genetic weaknesses (or mutations) can lay the groundwork for further assault of environmental and infectious agents, which can result in a wide range of increased risk for additional health conditions, including diabetes, cardiovascular disease, thyroid dysfunction, neurological inflammation, chronic viral infection, neurotransmitter imbalances, atherosclerosis, cancer, Alzheimer’s disease and autism. UC Davis also has more information for this type of genetic testing on their nutrigenomics website.

I also came across an article circulating in the UK, which said that a gene responsible for chronic pain has been recently identified, and could lead to creating drugs for treating long-lasting or chronic pain. “Any effective treatment which relieves the suffering of chronic pain is to be welcomed. Treatment which helps reduce pain but still leaves the body’s warning mechanisms intact is a major breakthrough.” (Dr Brian Hammond) Believe me, this breakthrough could be the answer to chronic illness and pain, solving the overall pain cause but not numbing the patient altogether.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed for more breakthroughs like this in the future, so one day we can live pain-free.

So back to my test results — basically, my doctor looked at my nutrigenomics genetic test results and it was quite colorful.  I have genetic mutations left and right, and most of them double mutations, which means that I am getting these genes from both sides of my family tree. I am one lucky girl (kidding). But at least these test results gave me the answers I was looking for — that this chronic illness and RA was a result of my genetic structure and not my fault at all.  There was nothing I could do about it, it was just how I was born.

I also found out one of the “cool” mutations I have causes me to produce excess amounts of dopamine and serotonin in my brain. I guess I will always be happy! 🙂

So how do these genetic tests help? Well, with the nutrigenomics test, I am able to see what necessary nutrients I am lacking in the essential methylation pathways (just ignore the scientific garb) that help my body function properly.  For instance, I found out that these gene mutations are hindering Vitamin C, Vitamin B and Vitamin D to be absorbed in my body, which is a main way a body functions and survives.  These are key nutrients and I’m just not getting them properly from the food I eat because of these genetic mutations or weaknesses (especially the double mutations).  So the plan is to try to counteract these mutations by taking high levels of dietary supplements and injections of these nutrients.  Over time, it could help alleviate the chronic pain, inflammation, and allergies that the Rheumatoid Arthritis gene and the other genes are causing. Well, at least that’s the plan!

But when all is said and done, I love my family and extended family with all my heart, even way back to the grandmothers’ sisters or cousins who had the RA gene and passed that little pip squeak down to me.  Thankfully we live in a time where technology and science and medicine is forever growing and I am lucky for that.

